Blue Diamond is a census-designated place (CDP) in Clark County, Nevada, United States. The population was 290 at the 2010 census.
The town includes a park, private pool, library, elementary school, event hall, church, and mercantile / gas station. The mercantile (general store) was built in 1942 and originally sold household staples and sundries to residents who were mostly miners at the Blue Diamond Mine. The store has maintained its original external look. Walls inside the store showcase many of the town's historical photos, courtesy of the Blue Diamond Historical Society, a 501c3 all-volunteer organization.
Blue Diamond is the site of Cottonwood Spring (formerly known as Ojo de Cayetana, or Pearl Spring), a watering place and camp site on the Old Spanish Trail and the later Mormon Road between Mountain Springs and Las Vegas Springs. The springs are located on a mountainside south of the town at 36°02′44″N 115°24′22″W at an elevation of 3409 feet.
The nearby gypsum mine was purchased in 1923 by the Blue Diamond Corporation of California. The company opened a wallboard manufacturing plant at the site in 1941, and then began building a company town in 1942. The village of Cottonwood became known as Blue Diamondville that year, when a post office opened under that name. The name was changed to Blue Diamond later in the year, although some authorities continued to refer to it as Blue Diamondville until at least 1950.
Blue Diamond is located at 36°2′50″N 115°24′11″W (36.047090, -115.403166).
As of the census of 2000, there were 282 people, 118 households, and 77 families residing in the CDP. The population density was 38.3 people per square mile (14.8/km2).