Milford is a town in Worcester County, Massachusetts, United States. The population was 27,999 according to the 2010 census. First settled in 1662 and incorporated in 1780, Milford became a booming industrial and mining community in the 19th century due to its unique location which includes the nearby source of the Charles River, the Mill River, the Blackstone River watershed, and large quantities of Milford pink granite.
Milford was first settled in 1662 as a part of Mendon after Native Americans, including the Sachem, Quashaamit, granted land to the early settlers. The King Philip's War destroyed the town in 1676, but settlers returned in 1680. The Mill River flows through Milford and had several conspicuous fords that were familiar to the Native Americans, and used by the early white settlers. These "mill (river) fords" gave Milford its name. Milford was incorporated April 11, 1780 and the first Town Hall built in 1819; a brick structure later named the Town House School. The Milford Town Hall was built in 1854 by architect Thomas Silloway.
Milford is renowned for its Milford pink granite, discovered in 1870. Milford quarries fueled the local economy until about 1940.